August Author Update

The longest book I've ever drafted...

Throughout August, I undertook one of the most challenging goals I’ve ever attempted as an author:

I tried to write a book that was 100,000 words.

As a chronic underwriter, this seemed like an impossible task, but through carefully managed word count goals and writing sprints with friends, I actually achieved that goal!

Book 3 of Tali’s series (which I might get to call more than that soon, with a title reveal on the horizon) will be the longest yet at a couple words over 100k in Draft 1. In comparison, Book 1 is currently 77k in Draft 2, and Book 2 sits right at 90k in Draft 1.

With all that math out of the way, I’m taking this week to review Kickstarter details and continue building my next campaign. I’m pricing foiled covers, specialty teas, and lots of other fun goodies for my first-ever Kickstarter book boxes, and to say I’m excited is an UNDERSTATEMENT!

After I take a little break from drafting, I’m tackling Book 1 Draft 3 to get it ready for betas in October! I have a marvelous team assembled, and I’m over the moon to share this story with them and receive valuable feedback.

The Author Stats…

Before I go into the August stats, I’m just going to say it:

I haven’t sold a single book in September.

And that’s disheartening.

I knew it would happen as I shifted from marketing the Maybes to my WIP, but seeing all those zeroes on my sales dashboard got to me earlier this week. Hopefully by the end of the month I’ll have exciting numbers to share! But for now, let’s enjoy how awesome August was. And if you haven’t checked out my books yet, maybe now is a good time!

Quotes To Enjoy

He shoved his glasses back into place on his nose and brushed her hair back from her forehead. “Dizziness? Fever? If you need to vomit, we have a bucket, which isn’t the best from a sanitary standpoint, but it’s…”

She pulled him to her and crushed her mouth against his before she could chicken out.

In an instant, his hands were around her, pulling her to him, holding her as she’d always dreamed.

TALI BOOK 3 DRAFT 1 Quote

 If My Hero Academia was about theatre kids, it would be pretty close to this book.

My current Kickstarter pitch for Tali Book 1

Upcoming Events

THIS WEEKEND, Tommi Jo and I are celebrating the release of the Maybe Duology EP together at Pop’s Wine Bar! If you’re local, be sure to stop by!

September Goals

  • Finish revisions of Book 1, Draft 3, and send it out for betas

  • Get Kickstarter ready for prelaunch

  • Get to 50 reviews for AMTFIL and 15 for IWHBAGS

  • Have a successful event at Pop’s with Tommi Jo!

Thanks, as always, for your support!