Author Fest Recap + Goodies

Breakdown, what’s next, and giveaway winner

Author Fest Breakdown

Hello, wonderful humans!

For all the new, lovely faces here, hi! I’m Emma! These newsletters are usually chock-full of chaotic writing updates, friends to follow and support, random WIP teasers, and my thoughts on creativity as a whole.

Today, we’re talking about Kickstarter, the Author Fest, and my hopes and dreams — but I’ll try to keep it brief.

First, though: the giveaway winner is Cassidy from Caddo Mills! Cassidy, your copies of And Maybe They Fall In Love and RJ Setser’s book A Queen Is Knighted are headed your way.

Kickstarter Updates

First, since many people are unfamiliar with Kickstarter, a fellow author created this very useful graphic. My campaign is in a “prelaunch” stage, which means you can favorite it on Kickstarter to receive updates, but this checklist will begin in January!

You can support my campaign HERE.

Author Fest Breakdown

I brought enough books and merchandise to make well over $1,000 at the Author Fest. I sold seven books at the end. That’s about the same amount I’ve sold at other events where I was not the sole author.

So why do I still call these events successful?

  1. Networking. I met some amazing authors with valuable insight into both writing and publishing methods. Without events like this, that would be a lot more difficult.

  2. Meeting readers. Although I only sold a few books, every Fest I’ve attended has had at least one “meetup” where someone from Instagram connects with me prior to let me know they’re coming to buy a copy. That always makes me feel so special, and I love seeing my internet friends in real life!

  3. Motivation. I’m motivated to share my books even more on my own time by events where I see so many people who love to read. Although my audience might not always live in East Texas, I know many of them are on social media. So my goal is to reach them through long-term, effective marketing.

That being said, I still have lots of books to share! If you want a signed copy of And Maybe They Fall In Love, use the code AUTHORFEST for 30% off and purchase it here.

My Hopes and Dreams

Above all, I want my books to glorify God. I don’t write Christian fiction, nor are my characters religious, but my books focus on the intrinsic value of life and the redemption of the unlovable. I’ve struggled with mental health for the last few years, and that struggle is discussed heavily in my work.

I hope, by being honest about who I am and what I’ve experienced, I can point others toward hope when they feel most hopeless.

I love supporting other Christian authors who write general fiction, so here are a few you should check out!

Kayla Ann (last day to support this Kickstarter)

Don’t forget: your story is worth living. Don’t give up.