Hardcovers Have Arrived!

Plus estimated Kickstarter arrival times and more

They’re here!! My beautiful proofs for the Kickstarter Limited Edition hardcovers have arrived.

The bad news: they took a month to get here. So, when I order 50 hardcovers in a week or so (which is the plan), they will take a month to arrive.

Once the books get here, I’ll have to:

  • Annotate (here’s how that process is going so far; I’m annotating a “master copy” to base my other notes off of)

  • Sign (I finally found a pen I like, and I cannot even explain how happy it makes me!)

  • Package (Ordering packaging supplies later this week!)

  • Ship (And figure out international shipping…which I’ve been told isn’t as scary as I fear)

All of those steps take time, too. Luckily, I’ve prepared for this, and I still believe all rewards will ship by the end of March and arrive to backers by the end of April.

“What about digital rewards?” you ask. “What’s the holdup?”

Well…we unlocked some stretch goals!

And those take time for artists to fulfill. Tommi Jo is mid-prep for rereleasing a previous EP (which is REALLY GOOD and you should check it out), so our estimated timeline for the Maybe Duology EP release is sometime in March.

That won’t delay the books, but I’m still waiting on final chapter headers, which should be delivered by February 14. 

Here’s a sneak peek at my favorite chapter header draft from the batch Will Kelly sent to me the other day…any idea whose this might be?

Once I get the chapter headers, I will reformat the books with those headers in place, add a QR code leading to the Maybe Duology EP on Spotify, and then digital rewards will pretty much be complete.

…except for the annotated ebooks, which will need a little extra time.

That being said, I am relatively confident that I can deliver all ebook rewards by the end of February. As long as our artists are able to continue working at the amazing pace they’ve shown so far, delivery should continue without a hitch. 

If you’re not a Kickstarter backer, I hope this behind-the-scenes is still interesting to you! I’ve really enjoyed sharing the step-by-step of this process, and I hope it makes someone else’s dreams feel a little more possible to achieve.

While preparing for Kickstarter, here are some books I’ve been loving!

Son of Bitter Glass by KB Hoyle: Y’all, I read this one as an ARC, and I honestly had zero expectations. It. Blew. Me. Away. If you like CS Lewis, friends-to-lovers, retellings…basically, if you want to relive childhood storytelling in a new tale, you HAVE to try this one out!

Marrow and Soul by Addison Horner: “Wait!” you cry, “didn’t you talk about this one before?” Which…yes. I did. But it releases today, so I’m talking about it again. You got a problem with that?

A Prince Is Lured by RJ Setser: I’ve been trying to read this book for MONTHS, and my mood-reader self has finally decided to let me enjoy it. I’m so excited to continue Lauraine’s story!

Untitled WIP (Tali’s Book 2) by me: Amidst all the Kickstarter drama, I’ve neglected writing updates. Here’s one: Tali’s book 2 (the rough draft) is finished as of this weekend! It’s a dumpster fire, but it’s MY dumpster fire, so I love it.

Secret Book by [Redacted]: I’m beta reading for a college friend, and it’s satisfying all my Southern Gothic spooky story needs. I can’t wait until this one finds its audience!

“Husband for Sale” by Caleb James Stewart: A different college friend got his short story published recently, and when I say the early drafts of this story turned our whole department upside down, I mean we were ready to imprison him in a study room until he turned it into a novel. It still hasn’t happened yet, but there’s always hope….