• Emma Hill
  • Posts
  • Why I'm Excited About Publishing Again

Why I'm Excited About Publishing Again

And why I wasn't before

Why I’m Excited About Publishing Again

And Why I Wasn’t Before

To preface: I’ve wanted to publish Book 2 since reaching the final stages of And Maybe They Fall In Love’s edits. Caroline and Tyler’s story is one I’ve loved telling…but it’s come with its fair share of difficulties.

It’s safe to say that, ever since publishing And Maybe They Fall In Love, I’ve been slowly inching toward publishing and marketing burnout.

There are a couple reasons this happened, but mostly I attribute it to:

My Pantser Self

And Maybe They Fall In Love started as a simple romance.
Then it began to center around mental health.
Then, as the story developed, fantasy elements took a small but important role in the world.

Now, And Maybe They Fall In Love is the first book in a contemporary fantasy duology, with Caroline’s story as the second book.

My marketing and publishing focus for the first book was fixated on ROMANCE. I connected with ROMANCE bookstagrammers, found a ROMANCE cover artist, and promoted the book as a ROMANCE.

That’s…not really what the story is at its heart. There’s so much more than Elle and Christopher’s romantic relationship in And Maybe They Fall In Love. Marketing it as a simple romance does the book — and the connected world — a disservice.

Undoing all the work I did marketing and publishing And Maybe They Fall In Love and replacing it with a contemporary fantasy romance duology marketing strategy is…daunting.

BUT!

Due to reasons (that I will share later), I believe there’s a way to tackle that new strategy without burning out and still honoring the story that’s evolved from my original idea.

That’s the beauty of self-publishing; rebranding, growing and moving forward is part of the process!

That Being Said…

I’m excited about publishing Book 2 again! And, hopefully, I’ll have a rough publication date sometime soon…

I’m On Vacation!

This update is a little shorter, but since I’m out of the country, I’m hoping you’ll forgive me. Love y’all!

Don’t forget to read and review And Maybe They Fall In Love and support Angela K. Morse’s Kickstarter!