July Author Update

Welcome, TAC friends!

With the Texas Author Convention behind me, here’s where I’m looking next:

First off, it’s the end of summer, and I’m a teacher. So I’m looking at my alarm with an increasing sense of dread.

Me calculating how many chapters I can draft before the first day of school…

But I am so thankful for all my new readers from the convention this past weekend! So, before I dive into the stats for this month, here’s a quick introduction to me and my books.

I’m Emma Hill, a Christian writing contemporary fantasy romance with a focus on mental health. I’ve been married for (almost) four years, teaching for two, and writing for as long as I can remember. My favorite books (at this current moment in time) are Gillian Bronte Adams’ Fireborn Epic series, Amanda Auler’s Mothmar series, and, though I’m just getting started in the Cosmere, Mistborn. Currently, I’m watching a lot of My Hero Academia for plot reasons and listening to EPIC: The Musical on repeat.

All Elle Coker wants is to fade into the background. As a Reader with intrusive thoughts, she’s got enough on her mind — and it’s hard to blend when you’re in everyone’s head.

An out-of-state internship offers Elle a chance to escape her small-town life and use her Reading as a skill, not a curse.

Enter Christopher, the concept artist with his own problems back home. And the smile that quiets the noise in Elle’s mind.

Elle and Christopher could fall in love. Maybe. But, as two people still trying to figure out how they fit into the world, would it be worth the risk?

Caroline Twamley is perfect. She's beautiful, rich, and intelligent. She's got everything she could ever need.

Except her freedom.

With a family name to uphold and an inheritance holding her to a life she's never wanted, Caroline never planned to challenge the path her father had set for her.

But when her perfect plans go awry, the ever-enticing Tyler joins Caroline to face evil exes, dark elite secrets, and the intricacies of a forbidden relationship, but neither of them can prepare for the story waiting for them in the depths.

The Author Stats…

With the Texas Author Con and meeting readers in real life, I was able to sell lots of signed copies this month! But my ebook sales also increased from the slow month I had in June. Things are picking up with school starting, and as I send the last few copies of my Kickstarter exclusive books out to find their homes, I can’t help but smile at how good it feels to have my shelves empty and ready for the next adventure!

Just like last month, my big goal for this year is to bump up review numbers—especially for It Would Have Been A Great Story. As a second book, it’s not going to climb as high as And Maybe They Fall In Love all at once, but I’d still like to get to 25 reviews by December!

Quotes To Enjoy

“Can’t you dig yourself out?” they’d teased, voices echoing through darkness thick with choking dust. Another boom. Another shivering collapse of an escape route above him, reduced to rubble. “Can’t you fly free, little bird?”

[REDACTED]’s hand was on his arm. He looked down at it, then up at her. “I told you, my shoulder is fine,” he said.

“You’re shaking,” she said quietly.

He gritted his teeth and looked away. “It’s nothing.”

She sighed. “Yeah. Me, too.”

TALI BOOK 2 DRAFT 1 Quote

This is reminding me of Rapunzel locking Flynn in her closet and I love ittttt.

TALI BOOK 1 Alpha Reader Feedback

Upcoming Events

THIS MONTH, I’ll be back at the Greenville Author Fest with RJ Setser and a few other friends!

More info HERE:

August Goals

  • Finish revisions of Book 1, Draft 2, and Book 2, Draft 1

  • Get to 30 reviews for AMTFIL and 10 (?) for IWHBAGS

  • Have a successful event at Greenville (maybe sell out??)

Thanks, as always, for your support!