June Writing Update

The Epic Conclusion of the Draft Year

2023 was the year of drafting.

I finished drafting all FOUR BOOKS of Tali’s series between June 2023 and June 2024.

Me watching my characters be ridiculous in these rough drafts

Y’all. I am TIRED of drafting! After a whole year of facing the blank page, I am over the MOON to start revisions for this series. For reference, here’s my usual writing process:

  • I’m a pantser, so I usually write a rough draft mostly on the fly. This rarely echoes the final draft’s plot, but I can usually discover characters’ internal motivations with greater creative integrity this way than if I plot a first draft.

  • After this, I do a big reread/rewrite/overhaul. That’s the stage I’m in right now! The tool I’m using for this process is a new one to me, called Notion, but I really like how organized it’s making my reread process!

  • When the plot is where I want it to be, I print out the draft and make big-scale edits on paper, often handwriting extra scenes and putting them between the pages.

  • Typing up those notes gets me to a more complete storyline, and then I start several digital rereads: flow, character development, and specific plot points that I’ve noticed are an issue. I usually catch a lot of sticky sentence structure at this point too.

  • At that point, when I get through those rereads, I send my book to betas and sensitivity readers! My books focus on mental health representation, and as such, sensitivity readers are really important to me. After implementing their input, I do another reread for flow and specific sentence structure, then send it to my editor (and my mom) for final proofreading.

  • Then, I send it to my kindle and read the book aloud. If it sounds good (I almost always end up changing something), I’ll start planning the publication process and contact my cover designer!

It’s a lot, but that’s what it takes to make a good book. And I love the editing and revising process!

The Author Stats…

I haven’t sold many books this month, but I’m really happy about the signed copies I’ve sold. I get the most royalties from direct sales, and it’s also amazing to connect with readers and send them extra goodies when I can!

And, even with these numbers, because of Kickstarter allowing me to not work in a deficit, all my profits are going directly to my savings for future works…and some fun new character art coming soon!

Hopefully July will see more sales, but my real goal this year is to encourage reviews. If you haven’t reviewed on Amazon, it would mean the world to me if you took the time to do so today!

Quotes To Enjoy

Captive. He knew something of the word. When his sister would play games with the river nymphs, sometimes they would trap her in their currents, fashioning chains of running water to bind her thin wrists and ankles. His sister always laughed with her friends and pressed free of their bonds, but the brother had never liked the games. Even the innocent play spoke to something darker of which he wanted no part.

He would never be captured like that. In chains. He would always be free. Here, in his forest, with his sister, no one was strong enough to take away his wings.

TALI BOOK 2 Unedited Quote and no, I will not be taking questions at this time

LOL RUNE IS HERE!!! Why am I in love with him (RUFFLE) “What people like you and I have to do” SIR

TALI BOOK 1 Unhinged Outline Notes

Upcoming Events

THIS MONTH, I’ll be participating in an indie author quick start guide panel and a romance panel at a two-day author con in Richardson, Texas!

More info HERE:

NEXT MONTH, come see me at the Greenville Author Fest August 10! This one was SO FUN last year, and I can’t wait to reconnect with my author friends!

July Goals

  • Sell out of IWHBAGS signed paperbacks (already sold out of AMTFIL!)

  • Finish series reread and begin rewriting process for Book 1

  • Get to 30 reviews for AMTFIL and 10 (?) for IWHBAGS

  • Have a successful event the 26-27!

Thanks, as always, for your support!