March Author Stats

Kickstarter, Writing, and Puppies!

March Author Stats

Kickstarter

As of today, all Kickstarter boxes are shipped! We did it! Here are some of my pros and cons of my campaign:

Things I’ll do again:
  • annotating! I really enjoyed especially the digital annotations for both books

  • local events. What can I say? Local connection is my favorite.

  • hardcovers. It was SO FUN to provide something special through the campaign that didn’t break the bank!

Things I will NOT do again:
  • spray my own edges. UGH. I’m not a crafty person. My mom helped me a lot, but it was still pretty stressful!

  • undersell international shipping. It wasn’t awful, but I definitely lost money due to not researching what different countries would cost.

  • annotate quite so much. I’ll probably only do one or two chapters next time!

Writing

In March, I finished the first draft of Book 3 in Tali’s series. This is the next big project on my list, but I’m taking a bit of a break before working on the final book of the series. Instead, I’ll be drafting something new! More on that later….

Reading

With Kickstarter fulfillment, I didn’t have much time to read, but I did manage to pick up Mistborn (which lived up to the hype) and Moon Soul (which MORE than lived up to the hype), so it wasn’t a completely barren month.

Puppies

My parents got puppies! Their names are Artemis and Luna. Rest assured, they will be heavily involved in my marketing process going forward. Artemis likes fast-paced thrillers, and Luna is a cozy sci-fi girlie, so if you have recs, send them my way and I’ll pass them on!

Events

This summer, RJ Setser and I will be touring Texas cities and attending book festivals! Here’s the lineup right now:

If you have any events in your area that you think we should attend, let us know and we’ll try to make it happen!

That’s about it! It’s testing season at school, so I’m sure April will be pretty quiet as I prepare for the release of It Would Have Been A Great Story in May (if you want to be a part of that release team, let me know! I’ll send out sign-ups probably mid-April).

Love you all! Thanks for coming along for the ride!