• Emma Hill
  • Posts
  • Your Ultimate List of Summer Resources

Your Ultimate List of Summer Resources

Your Ultimate List of Summer Resources

Hi! Just your friendly neighborhood indie author here to provide some recs and advice!

First, let’s talk about my workshop.

IYKYK

Wins

  • Full house attendance

  • Age, experience, and genre diversity

  • Engaged participants

  • Interest in future events

Losses

  • No books available for sale (I should have had a few just in case)

  • No direct CTA (go buy my book, sign up for my newsletter, etc)

  • No next event planned — I didn’t anticipate interest in more workshops!

Overall, it was a great experience, and I feel better prepared to market and run future workshops in my area.

Summer Reading List

This is by no means final, but here are some authors to watch this summer as sequels arrive for series, debuts make their way into the world, and general merriment is had by all!

Angela K. Morse: Sons of Avaria Book 2 Kickstarter (already fully funded with some sweet stretch goals, and this is just her second day!)

V.K. Dixon: serial romantic fantasy Fire and Night novel posted weekly in her Substack Newsletter!

Alli Earnest: Book 2 out June 22

Kayla Ann: Fantasy Kickstarter (starting in July!)

Moriah Chavis: Heart of the Sea out in August!

Amanda Auler: Book 2 of her Mothmar Series out November (but go preorder because this was one of my favorite reads this year!)

E.A. Hendryx: A Kickstarter novel I backed earlier this year about a space circus!

Hayley Reese Chow: Into the Churn (book 2 in the works!)

J. Leigh Bralick: The Madness Method books

Mckenzie Catron: A Goblin of the Glade (Numina Parable 2) has a cover reveal coming soon!

Outside of indie authors, my summer goal is to reread The Magic Kingdom of Landover!

Writing Resources/Generally Cool People

Addison Horner’s editing service (he’s also a talented author with a book on the way!)

Kayla Ann: A fantastic resource for publishing and Kickstarter info

Olivia Gratehouse: A Hobbit in real life

Erin Phillips: A great indie publishing resource!

The Flourished Mustard Seed: A godly resource for combating anxiety and stress

Fantastical Ink: A cover designer I’ve heard good things about!

A House With Books Shop: A local (ish) bookshop that has my book in stock 🙂 (If you know of any other shops carrying my novel, please let me know!

E.K. Meyer: An amazing human being who also happens to have an interview with me live on her blog! I love her with my whole heart.

Author’s Publish newsletter: a great place to find publishers open to your manuscript/short story!

If you have any other resources, be sure to message me for a potential future email! I hope these give you somewhere to start. As always, my inbox is open: email me with any questions you have.

Love y’all!